Students from the University of Georgia and the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Honored for Leadership

Today, Edelman named recipients of its 2018 Daniel J. Edelman and Ruth Edelman Public Relations Student Society of America Awards. Each will receive $1,500 and a three-month paid internship at one of Edelman’s U.S. offices to help advance their communications and marketing skills.

Receiving the Daniel J. Edelman/PRSSA award, named after the late founder of Edelman, is:

  • Riley Muse of the University of Georgia, a senior majoring in public relations. She is president of the university’s PRSSA chapter.

Receiving the Ruth Edelman/PRSSA award, named after the late deputy chairman of Edelman, is:

  • Karley Powell of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, a senior studying journalism and majoring in advertising and public relations. She is Director of Special Projects at the university’s PRSSA chapter.

The Daniel J. Edelman/PRSSA award has been presented annually since 1990 to active PRSSA students and honors those who have demonstrated exceptional leadership ability, a commitment to a public relations career and esteemed contributions to PRSSA.

The Ruth Edelman/PRSSA award is presented in partnership with Edelman’s Global Women’s Executive Network (GWEN) to recognize students who demonstrate achievement in women’s leadership, women’s studies and/or contributions in the field to promote women’s issues.

Students competing for the awards were judged on their leadership, public relations-related achievements, work samples, and social media/digital presence.